City of York Council

Resolutions and proceedings of the Special Meeting of the City of York Council held in the Guildhall, York on Thursday, 8th October, 2015, starting at 6.30 pm

Present: The Lord Mayor (Cllr Sonja Crisp) in the Chair, and the following Councillors:

Acomb Ward	Bishopthorpe Ward
S Barnes K Myers	
Clifton Ward	Copmanthorpe Ward
D Myers Wells	Carr
Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward	Fishergate Ward
Fenton Mason Reid	D'Agorne Taylor
Fulford and Heslington Ward	Guildhall Ward
Aspden	Craghill Flinders Looker
Haxby & Wigginton Ward	Heworth Ward
Cuthbertson Gates Richardson	Funnell Williams
Heworth Without Ward	Holgate Ward
Ayre	Cannon Crisp Derbyshire

Hull Road Ward	Huntington and New Earswick Ward
N Barnes Levene Shepherd	Orrell Runciman
Micklegate Ward	Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward
Gunnell Hayes Kramm	Brooks Warters
Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward	Rural West York Ward
Dew Lisle	Gillies Steward
Strensall Ward	Westfield Ward
Douglas Doughty	Hunter Jackson Waller
Wheldrake Ward	
Mercer	

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Galvin, Boyce, Cullwick and Rawlings

27. Honorary Aldermen

The Lord Mayor declared the object of the meeting, under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, which was to confer the status of Honorary Alderman upon a number of former Members of Council.

It was then moved by Cllr Steward and seconded by Cllr Williams:

"That, pursuant to its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the City of York upon:

David Horton Ken King Brian Watson

in formal recognition of their significant contribution to the City during the time that they served upon City of York Council."

The motion was put to the vote and declared CARRIED and it was

RESOLVED: That the above motion be approved.¹

Action Required

1. Arrange a civic ceremony for the new Honorary Aldermen.

Cllr Sonja Crisp LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 6.30 pm and concluded at 6.35 pm]

